Emerging screenwriters honored with Nicholl awards

Published 11-09-2018

0 Ratings

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif. (AP) - Five emerging screenwriters are experiencing a breakthrough of a lifetime earning praise from the film academy for their work.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences recognized each screenwriter at the Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting on Thursday night. The three individuals along with a writing duo received $35,000 and had their work read live by actors Jamie Chung, Lily Collins, Ken Jeong and Blair Underwood.

The event was held at the academy's headquarters in Beverly Hills, California.

Winners include Allison and Nicolas Buckmelter, Joey Clarke Jr., Grace Sherman and Wenonah Wilms. They will receive guidance from academy members as they complete a feature-length screenplay during their fellowship year. The winning screenplays were chosen from nearly 6,900 submissions.

Since 1986, the competition has aimed to identify and encourage talented new screenwriters.

No comments found. Sign up or Login to rate and review content.